Louis CK – Being White

Posted on January 6, 2012 by

0


“I’m not saying that white people are better, I’m saying that being white is clearly better. Who can even argue?”

He may be talking about his experience as a white man, and that being white leads to an easier and more privileged experience. But I hear something different, and I think non-white audiences might hear it too, that white people hold a status higher than all other races. With this in mind, Louis CK is pointing out that mass media has overwhelmingly upheld the dominant ideology of the myth of white supremacy. This really stood out to me because hegemony has made it so he can effortlessly express this opinion, and his entire audience agrees. He and the audience find humor in the fact that this ingrained belief is so wrong, yet the idea of a future where white people are not in a position of power is distant and farcical.

Tagged: